Home » Products » UltraCompare » Getting Started

Context Menu Options

The context menu in UltraCompare offers some very useful features for file management, merging of differences, and directory navigation in both the text compare modes and the folder compare mode.

 

The following commands are available in Text Compare mode:

 

 

Open in UltraEdit

opens selected files in UltraEdit for editing

Align Manually

resets alignment based on the two lines currently selected in the active file compare - must be invoked separately in both compare panes to set lines for manual alignment.  After the second line is selected for manual alignment, all lines above those selected will be marked in the line number column to indicate that they are not included in the active compare.

Reset Alignment

restores compared file alignment to default scan state

Merge First to Second

merges selection from left file to right file

Merge Second to First

merges selection from right file to left file

Advanced Merge

merges selection from left to right (or right to left) either above or below the differenced line without overwriting the existing text

Accept All

accepts all merge changes in specified files

Cut

deletes selection from active document and moves it to the clipboard

Copy

copies selection from active document to the clipboard

Copy Frame to Clipboard

copies content of active frame to clipboard obeying filters if applied

Paste

pastes data from the clipboard into active document

Delete File

deletes active file from disk

Clear

clears the contents of the active compare pane

Delete Selected Line

deletes selected line only in the file in which it is selected

Add Line to Bookmarks

adds the selected line to the current bookmark navigation list

Explore First Folder

opens Explorer to Source directory

Explore Second Folder

opens Explorer to Destination directory

Show File in Browser

passes active file to default browser for OS

Refresh

repeats compare to refresh differences indicated

 

In Binary (smart or fast) Compare mode, only the Open file in UltraEdit, Delete FileExplore First/Second Folder, Show File in Browser, and Refresh options are available in the context menu.

 

The following commands are available in Folder Compare mode:

 

 

Open in UltraEdit

opens selected files in UltraEdit for editing

Merge First to Second

merges selected file from left to right directory

Merge Second to First

merges selected file from right to left directory

Accept All

accepts all merge changes in specified files

Mark

adds selected files/folders to internal tracking list to support hiding

Reset Marked

removes files/folders from internal tracking list

Hide Marked

hides items added to internal tracking list

Show Hidden

restores visibility of items previously hidden

Delete selected files(s)/folder(s)

removes the selected files/folders from the active directory

Explore First Folder

opens Explorer to Source directory

Explore Second Folder

opens Explorer to Destination directory

Show Preview File

toggles visibility of text file preview of active file in compare

Load First File

presents submenu to select frame to load selected file for text comparison

Show File in Browser

passes active file to default browser for OS

Refresh

repeats compare to refresh differences indicated

 

The following commands are available in 3-Way Folder Compare mode:

 

 

Open in UltraEdit

opens selected files in UltraEdit for editing

Merge First to Second

merges selected file from first to second directory

Merge Second to First

merges selected file from second to first directory

Merge Second to Third

merges selected file from second to third directory

Merge Third to Second

merges selected file from third to second directory

Merge First to Third

merges selected file from first to third directory

Merge Third to First

merges selected file from third to first directory

Accept All

accepts all merge changes specified

Mark

adds selected files/folders to internal tracking list to support hiding

Reset Marked

removes files/folders from internal tracking list

Hide Marked

hides items added to internal tracking list

Show Hidden

restores visibility of items previously hidden

Delete Selected File(s)/Folders(s)

removes the selected files/folders from the active directory

Explore First Folder

opens Explorer to first directory

Explore Second Folder

opens Explorer to second directory

Explore Third Folder

opens Explorer to third directory

Show Exclude Dialog

presents dialog where user may select files/folders to exclude from active compare

Show Preview File

toggles visibility of text file preview of active file in compare

Refresh

repeats compare to refresh differences indicated

 

Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles
Synchronize Folders
Viewed 3167 times since Wed, Sep 21, 2011
Version Control Support
Viewed 3277 times since Wed, Sep 21, 2011
Session Properties
Viewed 2380 times since Wed, Sep 21, 2011
Difference Navigation
Viewed 2332 times since Wed, Sep 21, 2011
UltraCompare Versions
Viewed 2010 times since Wed, Sep 21, 2011
Using UltraCompare
Viewed 5613 times since Wed, Sep 21, 2011
Command Line Options
Viewed 6334 times since Wed, Sep 21, 2011
3-Way Difference Navigation
Viewed 1863 times since Wed, Sep 21, 2011
3-Way Folder Navigation
Viewed 1786 times since Wed, Sep 21, 2011
Workspace Manager
Viewed 2674 times since Wed, Sep 21, 2011