This command presents the Layout Selector dialog where the user specifies the active editing layout.
The Layout Selector dialog allows users to choose between predefined editing layouts. A layout includes specific menus, toolbars and dockable windows as well as customized templates for selected layouts. This provides a great time-saver as users may switch between different display options for all of these items at once rather than configuring each of these individually.
When the Layout Selector is first displayed, the active layout will be selected in the left pane with a description of the layout.
The active layout may be changed by selecting a new layout from the list and pressing the OK button. When this is done the user will be prompted to confirm he wishes to change layouts.
If Continue is selected, the active layout will be changed to the one selected in the Layout Selector dialog. If Stop is pressed, no change will occur.
Default layouts may be customized if desired. When a layout is active, a user can customize layout items individually. Menus and toolbars may be customized by right-clicking on any menu heading (File, Edit, etc.) or toolbar and selecting Customize Menu or Customize Toolbar respectively. Dockable windows may be opened and positioned as desired to meet the user's needs.
Once the active layout is customized, the Layout Selector dialog should be invoked by selecting it from the View menu or by pressing ALT+F8. The user may then edit the name of the active layout in the text box at the top of the selection list and press the Save Current State As button to save the customized version of the active layout.
Any defined layout may be deleted by selecting it in the selection list and pressing the Delete Selected Layout button.
If the Reset Built-In Layouts button is pressed, all built-in layouts will be restored to their default state. Please note: Any customer layouts that have been created in addition to the default layouts will be preserved in their current state.
If a user wishes to export a layout they have created to share with a friend or co-worker, this may be done by pressing the Export/Import Layout button. This will present a popup menu where the user may choose one of two options: Export Selected Layout or Import Layout.
If the user selects the Export Selected Layout button, the Browse for Folder dialog is presented and the user can select the folder to export the layout file to or create a new folder to export to. The selected layout will be created as a file with the name of the selected layout and the extension "uee". For example, the Power User layout would be exported as "Power User.uee".
If the Import Layout button is pressed, the Open dialog will be displayed so the user may navigate to the *.uee file that should be imported for the desired layout. The settings in the imported file will be automatically parsed and the layout will then be available for selection in the Layout Selector dialog.
|Posted - Thu, Oct 13, 2011 7:05 PM. This article has been viewed 4474 times.|
|Online URL: http://www.ultraedit.com/help/article/layouts-1386.html|
Powered by PHPKB Knowledge Base Software